Newly found Oyster has lots of pearls


Oyster & pearl by http://www.sxc.hu/profile/roym Used under Creative Commons license
Oyster & pearl by http://www.sxc.hu/profile/roym Used under Creative Commons license

There is an Oyster out there that offers up more than 100,000 thousand gems.  Think I’m kidding?

New York start-up company, Oyster is doing for readers what Netflix did for movie lovers.  According to their website, Oyster offers up unlimited books for $9.95 a month.  More than 100,000 titles are available, anytime, anywhere.  Think of it as having a library at your fingertips.  Anything from YA to Romance to History to Sci Fi. You want it, Oyster delivers.  You can keep up with what your friends are reading and recommend books to your friends all with a single click.  

At the moment, it appears Oyster is only available for I-phones and I-Pod touch, but I’m sure they’ll expand their reach once the company grows.

Another cool thing about Oyster, if you’re an author or publisher, there’s a special link to Oyster if you want to work with them.  This could be HUGE for small presses and indie authors.  What a fab idea!  What do you think?  

4 thoughts on “Newly found Oyster has lots of pearls

  1. I agree with Wither. Great for readers… Especially my son who goes through books so fast… but I imagine Amazon will find a way to squash them.

    I’d like to know more about how it works between the publishers and the authors and such.

    Like

  2. What an interesting idea! Great for readers, but I wonder what impact it will have on the authors. Will they pay fair royalties on the books they offer to their readers? We’ve been having a lot of discussions about the proposed changes to the Canadian copyright laws here, so it’s been on my mind. 🙂

    Like

    1. There is a link on their page for authors and publishers to contact them, so I’m sure there would be some sort of ‘royalty’ payment happening here. As this is a new start-up, I don’t have any details but it would be interesting to find out. Maybe a question via Twitter??

      Like

Please join in

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.