Meet YA author, Rachel Coker, wordsmith of Interrupted: Life Beyond Words and Chasing Jupiter


Wow, what a week it’s been.  We’ve met some amazing YA authors and been introduced to some really spectacular reads.  I hope you all have enjoyed meeting these fantastic authors and talking to them, and adding their books to your Must Read lists.  Please give a round of applause to everyone who participated.  It’s been loads of fun.

Today is the last day of the YA Author Blog Takeover and I have a wonderful surprise for you.  Rachel Coker is the author of the historical YA novel that is taking the world by storm:  Interrupted:  Life Beyond Words.  See what some reviewers are saying:

“A feel-good story for both heart and soul.” ~ Kirkus Review

” An unpredictable and engrossing tale of how grief, faith and romance collide within the heart of a girl, Interrupted: Life Beyond Words is quite an achievement – and teen novelist Rachel Coker is an author to watch.” ~ USA Today

“Coker writes an emotionally compelling and psychologically nuanced tale. The plot has some weak spots: Allie manages to overhear not one but two crucial incidents that give her unexpected information, and some of her character development late in the story is abrupt. But the historical context is an engaging narrative frame. Coker is one to watch.’ ~ Publishers Weekly Review

And what is even more amazing is the author is only sixteen years old.   *Gasp*  I know, right?

So, without any further introductions, I hand over my blog to the über-talented, awe-inspiring, Rachel Coker.  Be prepared to have your heart and soul touched by an angel.

I’ve always loved YA Fiction. Maybe that came from being an overly mature child, or maybe it was the result of the enormous pile of high-school reading list books I always plowed through during summer breaks. When I look back on the books that inspired me to write, it was always the YA literature that had the biggest impact. And, as a teenager, I still find myself relating to the stories of young people in my favorite books.

Yep, you read that right. I’m a teenager. Sixteen. And, believe it or not, I’m also a YA author. My first novel, Interrupted: Life Beyond Words, was published with Zondervan in March. It’s not easy to be a YA author, but it is honestly the funnest, most rewarding job I could ever imagine.

I never set out to be an author of any sort, though. Two years ago, my life pretty much matched that of any other fourteen-year-old girl. My world revolved around schoolwork and babysitting and, oh yeah ,I wrote. Being a writer was never a huge emphasis, actually. It was more of a secret hobby. A way to let out my feelings and thoughts in private. In my stories, I created characters that were just like me and that related to my life circumstances. They were teens, too, who struggled with the same emotions of excitement, fear, joy, and confusion.

I wish I had an amazing, motivational, inspiring publication story to share with you all, but the truth is I just don’t. I always joke that I sort of stumbled into the lap of Zondervan. I did my fair share of praying, obviously, and clumsily made my way through the querying process. I literally Googled “Christian literary agents” and sent emails to about fifteen well-respected individuals. It should come as no surprise to you that every single one of them flat-out rejected me—except for one. I have no idea what Bill Jensen saw in little fourteen-year-old me, but for some reason he decided to sign my book, and within a few weeks I had a publishing deal with Zondervan.

Sometimes I still feel overwhelmed when I think about the responsibility of being a signed author with an established publishing company. And there are definitely days when I want to pull my hair out and scream, “How am I supposed to survive getting my driver’s license and passing Spanish and writing another stupid novel before the end of the year???”

But then I sit back and think of what an amazing opportunity I have been given. To write to teens. These in-between years are so crazy and emotional and overwhelming, and we need good examples to ground us. I know that my own perspective has been very much shaped by the books I have read and characters I have loved.

As a teen myself, I see YA fiction as a God-given chance to make a difference in another teen’s life. I may never get to meet that reader personally, but I can still encourage them. Through the characters I create and the values I share through my writing, I may have an impact on someone’s life that I’ll never even know about.

My second novel, Chasing Jupiter, is coming out this December. The storyline revolves around a teenage girl growing up in 1969 who feels her family is misunderstood and thought of as freaks, just because they’re a little eclectic. How many teens feel the same way in real life and, just like Scarlett in Chasing Jupiter, are struggling to keep their family and life together in the midst of unbelievable turmoil and confusion? Or how many are suffering like Allie in my first novel, Interrupted, with the blow of losing a parent or loved one, or being thrust into an uncomfortable situation that they have no desire for?

The teen years are so confusing and sticky. Take it from someone who knows. 😉 But what we have to remember as YA authors is to write books that will give teens answers. That will give them hope. That will remind them that they’re not alone and that they have a voice.

To be an author is a huge responsibility. But it’s also something that should make you excited and eager. Every time I receive a letter or an email from a teen that was touched by my book or story, it brings a huge smile to my face. Because that is what we are here to do. To inspire, encourage, and give answers to teens. And I hope that the older I grow, I’ll just keep loving it even more!

Isn’t she lovely?  I can’t begin to tell you how thrilled I was when Rachel agreed to take part on my YA Blog Takeover.  She has inspired me in so many ways and I’m looking forward to reading even more books by this very talented young author.  She is going places.  Please take a moment to introduce yourself and leave a message for Rachel.  She’s such a sweet young lady and so easy to talk to.

You can find Rachel at the following links and don’t forget to add INTERRUPTED: life beyond words and her new novel, CHASING JUPITER, to your TBR lists.

blog: http://rachelcoker.wordpress.com/
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/pages/Rachel-Coker/259036884190460

Rachel’s bio:  Sixteen-year-old author Rachel Coker has a passion for great books, and has been surrounded by them all her life. Her first YA novel, Interrupted: Life Beyond Words, was published with Zondervan in March 2012, and her second book, Chasing Jupiter, is due to be released in December 2012. When she is not writing, playing the piano, or hiding behind a camera, Rachel enjoys spending time with her family and friends and serving her Lord and Savior. You can visit her at her blog.

Interrupted: A Life Beyond WordsDescription:  Can love really heal all things? If Sam Carroll hadn’t shown up, she might have been able to get to her mother in time. Instead, Allie Everly finds herself at a funeral, mourning the loss of her beloved mother. She is dealt another blow when, a few hours later, she is sent from Tennessee to Maine to become the daughter of Miss Beatrice Lovell, a prim woman with a faith Allie cannot accept. Poetry and letters written to her mother become the only things keeping Allie’s heart from hardening completely. But then Sam arrives for the summer, and with him comes many confusing emotions, both toward him and the people around her. As World War II looms, Allie will be forced to decide whether hanging on to the past is worth losing her chance to be loved.

Description (from Rachel’s blog):

Chasing Jupiter takes place in the summer of 1969, and it revolves around the story of sixteen-year-old Scarlett Blaine, who is growing up in small-town Georgia with her quirky and dysfunctional family. Scarlett has a younger brother named Cliff, who is definitely the oddball of the group. Strange, sometimes moody, and always entertaining, Cliff definitely keeps Scarlett on her toes. Adding even more color to the picture is her eccentric grandfather, Grandpop Barley, whose world revolves around red ties and peanut butter. And then there’s Juli, Scarlett’s beautiful and rebellious older sister, who is doing everything she can to cause strains in the family. Together, they make up quite the loony bunch, and stick out like sore thumbs in the community.

But what starts off as a bright, fun-loving summer quickly down spirals into one of Scarlett’s biggest challenges yet. As the pressures of life and the demands of the outside world start to have their toll on her family, she must learn that protecting and cherishing those she loves is the most important job she has. Scarlett finds herself tottering on the brink of childhood and adulthood, afraid and uncertain about family, love, and the future. But the events that unfold that summer are big enough to change her life forever.

Expected Release Date for Chasing Jupiter:  December, 2012

I want to give a special thank you and big hugs to all of you, my readers, for stopping by and taking the time to meet my guests.  It means a lot to me and to them.  I hope to see you around and stay tuned.  There might just be another blog takeover in December.  *wink*

Also, stay tuned for more author interviews/tours coming in August.  Until next time, keep your feet on the ground and never stop reaching for the stars.