Add a song or playlist to your blog


Dudes and dudettes!  I can’t tell you how happy I am.  I have always wanted a playlist on my blog and today I got one, thanks to WordPress.com!

I love it when I stumble upon a blog or website that has a playlist.  To me, the type of music one listens to mirrors the person’s soul.  It speaks about what the person feels at the moment, the way a person lives their life.  For example, when I come across someone who listens to island music, I picture that person as carefree, laid back, someone who takes life as it comes.  When I hear classical music, I picture someone who is introspective, thoughtful, peaceful.  Hard rock says to me independence with a capital I, while country lends me to think that person is into the simple things in life.  

Music, of course, means different things to different people, but I still think it’s a window into the person’s soul.

As for me, I like all kinds of music (except for rap and heavy metal), but I tend to listen more to jazz, top 40, crooners and love songs (Elvis, BSB, Frank Sinatra, Michael Buble’, etc.,), classic rock ‘n roll (think Pink Floyd), soundtracks (like Lord of the Rings) and classical.  

Up until now, WordPress.com didn’t have that feature.  There were ways around it, but for someone like me who doesn’t have a clue about html, the language was lost on me.

But alas!  Wordpress com now has a way for you to embed a song or playlist from Spotify, Rdio, and GitHub.  Squeal!!!  You can find all the instructions here.  It was so quick and easy to set up and I actually got it to work. My blog is now the proud owner of my Spotify jazz playlist!  Woot Woot!

If you guys with free WordPress.com blogs have ever wanted to have a playlist on your site, try it out.   It is not an auto start-up (those can be annoying), and each of the music sites (spotify, Rdio and GitHub, take care of all licensing.)

Hope you enjoy listening to some jazz while on my blog.  Sit back, chill, grab a glass of wine and stay awhile. I’d love to have you.  Cheers.

Now if I could only bring in the warm breezes and the sounds and smells of the ocean, we’d be in paradise.  ðŸ™‚