What were your top five favorite books of 2011?


I read a lot.  I read young adult fiction, fantasy, paranormal romance, mysteries, drama.  My tastes are varied, so long as a book grips me.  If it takes more than a 1/2 of a book before things happen, I tend to give up on them (as was the case with the Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, though I did promise my daughter I would try to re-read).  But, because I write Young Adult fantasy, I tend to read more YA fiction than anything else, for obvious reasons.

So, maybe I should break down my top five favorite books for 2011 into two groups:  YA and Other, so, here goes.

Top five favorite YA books I read in 2011 (in no particular order):

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children, by Ransom Riggs

Daughter of Smoke and Bone, by Laini Taylor

Divergent, by Veronica Roth

Chime, by Franny Billingsley

Lola and the Boy Next Door, by Stephanie Perkins  

Top five favorite books in the Other category:

The Glass Man, by Jocelyn Adams 

The Magician King, by Lev Grossman 

Back of Beyond, by C.J. Box 

Scholar by L.E. Modesitt, Jr. 

The Sisters by Nancy Jensen 

What are my top YA picks to read in 2012?  I have the following books on hold at the library:

The Scorpio Races  

Hourglass  

Tangled Tides 

Notes from the Blender 

Beauty Queens   

Touch 

Revolution  

Most anticipated books for 2012?:

The Halflings by Heather Burch 

Insurgent, by Veronica Roth (who could not like this cover?) 

 

So, what were your favorite books of 2011 and what is on your reading list for 2012?