Speed-dating . . . literary style


Got this idea off BookEnds LLC and thought how fun it would be for all my author buddies to participate and do the same.  Please copy and paste the questions, leave your answers on this blog and then copy and post to yours with a link back.

As we all know, the idea of speed dating is get to know your prospective date in 10 minutes.  Author Speed Date works in much the same way.  This should be fun!

~~~~~~~
Name (the one you write under):  J. Keller Ford

Speed date Bio (one or two lines):   Actively seeking full-time job by day, mom and YA fantasy writer with a voracious appetite for books 24/7.

Web Linkhttps://jennykellerford.wordpress.com

Next Book, pub date (if any):  In the Shadow of the Dragon King, (submitting)

Agent: seeking

About Me

Real Name or Pseudonym:   J. Keller Ford (pseudonym/maiden name),  Jenny Michaud (what friends and family call me).

Most recently read book:  Paranormalcy by Kiersten White

Currently ReadingVienna Twilight by Frank Tallis

Next on Your Reading ListThe Debutante by Kathleen Tesssaro

Facebook or Twitter (include account name): Facebook as Jenny Michaud (aka J. Keller Ford); Twitter:  jkellerford

Three authors living or dead you would want to have dinner with: Robert Ludlum, Raymond Feist, J.K. Rowling.

Jet-setter or armchair traveler:  Would love to jet-set, can only afford the armchairs at the moment.

Glass ½ full or ½ empty:  Is it water or wine?

Tea or Coffee:  coffee in the morning, tea the rest of the day

Live to write or Write to live:  Always live to write.

About My Writing

When (time of day) I write:  Lately it is all day, every day.

Writing soundtrack:  classical guitar, instrumental Celtic, sometimes Michael Bublé.

Character Inspirations:  Every single person I hear or see.

Plot Inspirations:  real life situations, kids’ and teenagers’  imaginations.

Setting Inspirations:  real life, dreams, my imagination

Plotter (carefully plot books) or Pantser (write from the seat of my pants):   A little of both.  I know where I want to go with my stories, but I let my characters lead me there.  Then I edit.

Your turn!

9 thoughts on “Speed-dating . . . literary style

  1. I didn’t want to copy and paste all that into your comments, Jenny, so I have it posted i my blog (www.aimeelaine.com/blog/) and linked to you (or will … tomorrow 6/27). 🙂 Great topic and I loved reading more about you!

    Like

  2. Name (the one you write under): Claire Gillian (and Lila Shaw and Iris St. Clair)

    Speed date Bio (one or two lines): Corporate slave for a services co as ops/finance manager, mom of 2, slovenly housekeeper because writing eats up my free time.

    Web Link: http://clairegillian.com

    Next Book, pub date (if any): Um…have 3 in completed draft stage–The PURE, My Fair Vampire, Trust Me (YA working title) and an anthology about half done that I want to query…sometime. October will see 2 pubbed anthologies containing Claire’s and Lila’s short stories.

    Agent: seeking

    About Me

    Real Name or Pseudonym: Claire Gillian (pseudonym/maiden name). My real first name is Colleen but that’s all I’m sayin’

    Most recently read book: Mirrorlight by Jill Myles

    Currently Reading: Hounded by Kevin Hearne

    Next on Your Reading List: Magic Slays by Ilona Andrews…or City of Fallen Angels by Cassandra Clare…or…never mind

    Facebook or Twitter (include account name): Facebook as Claire Gillian (author page); Twitter: @auburnassassin (Claire), @lila_shaw, @iris_st_clair

    Three authors living or dead you would want to have dinner with: Erma Bombeck, Jean Shepherd, Suzanne Collins

    Jet-setter or armchair traveler: A healthy balance of both.

    Glass ½ full or ½ empty: 1/2 full

    Tea or Coffee: Other–Diet Coke with coffee in second then tea

    Live to write or Write to live: Is there a difference?

    About My Writing

    When (time of day) I write: After work, sometimes during lunch breaks or when a very slow computer program is running, between AM workout and heading to job, most of the weekends.

    Writing soundtrack: I can’t listen to music when I write. Too distracting because music creates its own world for me that is highly competitive with my written worlds.

    Character Inspirations: There’s a few movie & TV characters I’ve found memorable (says the former fan fiction writer) like Jim Halpert from the Office, Sylar from Heroes, probably a few literary ones too like Jamie and Claire from Outlander…

    Plot Inspirations: I have no idea where they come from–sometimes a mood or a visual or a song (lots of songs). My car and shower are great incubators though.

    Setting Inspirations: I don’t care that much about settings since I’m not into world-building. Usually I pick one I already know somewhat so I don’t have to research. I’m basically pretty lazy in this respect.

    Plotter (carefully plot books) or Pantser: More of a pantser. I sometimes create random puzzle pieces that revolve around character development and interactions then figure out later how to assemble them cleverly. LOL

    There! So off to post to my blog!

    Like

  3. Um … not sure why my answers didn’t go over yours for my authors to have dinner with. Anyhoo, my answer should say: Rachel Vincent, Val MacDermid, Harlen Coben. 🙂

    Like

      1. Well, it’s book #6 in the series and by then (because I’d read them all in order) I was 100% invested in the characters. If you want my full report, I reviewed it on Goodreads–and the author Tweeted it and also thanked me on Twitter. 🙂

        Like

  4. Okay, I’m game for this. Looks like fun. :o) See you at the bottom.
    Name (the one you write under): J. A. Belfield
    Speed date Bio (one or two lines): Writer by day, writer by night, mother and wife when they remind me to be.
    Web Link: http://jabelfield.wordpress.com
    Next Book, pub date (if any): Darkness & Light. Officially: July 1st 2011
    Agent: Negatory
    About Me
    Real Name or Pseudonym: J. A. Belfield/Julie
    Most recently read book: Alpha by Rachel Vincent
    Currently Reading: Darkness & Light by me, and Fantasy in Deatj by J.D. Robb.
    Next on Your Reading List: River Marked by Patricia Briggs.
    Facebook or Twitter (include account name): Facebook as J. A. Belfield; Twitter: JABelfield
    Three authors living or dead you would want to have dinner with: Robert Ludlum, Raymond Feist, J.K. Rowling.
    Jet-setter or armchair traveler: I’ve never been much of a jet-setter, I’m too much of a homely girl. However, my intrigue about the place across the pond grows as I make new friends over there.
    Glass ½ full or ½ empty: Always half full.
    Tea or Coffee: Um … cappuccino ???
    Live to write or Write to live: Deffo the first.
    About My Writing
    When (time of day) I write: Whenever I darn well feel like it and then some.
    Writing soundtrack: Mishmash of artists on my media player playlist.
    Character Inspirations: Whoever pops into my head.
    Plot Inspirations: What are plots?
    Setting Inspirations: My imagination makes pretend small places in rel bigger places (ha!)
    Plotter (carefully plot books) or Pantser (write from the seat of my pants): 100% pantser, baby.

    There ya go! Great post. Lots of fun. 🙂

    Like

Please join in

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.