Kitty Litter Cake


What’s a Halloween party without Kitty Litter Cake?  Aww, come on.  Look at it.  Don’t you just want to munch down?  🙂  Actually, it’s a pretty darn good cake, but the presentation is  a little…hmm, how shall I put it…GROSS!  But Halloween isn’t about pretty and frilly.  It’s all about ghouls and ghosts and yuck, so if you have an hour or so and want to make something the kids and/or everyone in the office will rant about…make the cake.

To start out with, you’ll need a brand new kitty litter box, kitty box liner (optional), and kitty pooper scooper.

Recipe:

1      (18.25 ounce) package German Chocolate Cake Mix

1      (18.25 ounce) package white cake mix

2      (3.5 ounce) packages instant vanilla pudding mix

1       (12 ounce) package vanilla sandwich cookies

3 drops green food coloring

1      (12 ounce) package tootsie rolls

Directions:

1.   Prepare cake mixes and bake according to package directions (any size pan).

2.   Prepare pudding according to package directions and chill until ready to assemble.

3.   Crumble sandwich cookies in small batches in a food processor, scraping often. Set aside all but 1/4 cup. To the 1/4 cup add a few drops of green food coloring and mix.

4.    When cakes are cooled to room temperature, crumble them into a large bowl. Toss with 1/2 of the remaining cookie crumbs, and the chilled pudding. You probably won’t need all of the pudding, you want the cake to be just moist, not soggy.

5.     Line kitty litter box with the kitty litter liner. Put cake mixture into box.
Put half of the unwrapped tootsie rolls in a microwave safe dish and heat until softened. Shape the ends so that they are no longer blunt, and curve the tootsie rolls slightly. Bury tootsie rolls randomly in the cake and sprinkle with half of the remaining cookie crumbs. Sprinkle a small amount of the green colored cookie crumbs lightly over the top.

6.       Heat 3 or 4 of the tootsie rolls in the microwave until almost melted. Scrape them on top of the cake and sprinkle lightly with some of the green cookie crumbs. Heat the remaining tootsie rolls until pliable and shape as before. Spread all but one randomly over top of cake mixture. Sprinkle with any remaining cookie crumbs. Hang the remaining tootsie roll over side of litter box and sprinkle with a few green cookie crumbs. Serve with the pooper scooper for a gross Halloween dessert.

Bon Appetite my ghoulish friends!

26 thoughts on “Kitty Litter Cake

  1. LOL! Yum? It seems that out of all the holidays, Halloween seems to bring about the craziest concoctions — namely with food. I have yet to make or sample this treat? but maybe this year is my year. 😉

    Like

  2. This is fantastic. I probably won’t get to it this year, but I’m bookmarking this page for next Halloween. Or maybe for my son’s birthday. Who says I have to wait for Halloween to serve Kitty Litter cake?

    Like

    1. exactly! Aren’t boys ghoulish all year round anyway? I mean, they are so into gross stuff all the time. They’re hardwired for the ick. I say go for it and get pictures of their faces when you set it down on the table. bwhahahahaha. 🙂

      Like

  3. That looks disgustingly awesome! It’s too bad I already threw my kids’ Halloween party this past weekend. This would have been perfect. I’ll have to make it next year, though.

    Like

  4. Like Vanessa, I have seen this recipe before but never had the courage to try it. As the main person in my household who is responsible for cleaning out my cat’s REAL litter box, the thought of eating cake that looks exactly like what I’ve tossed in the trash so many times is a little revolting. I’d have to do the same as you, turn away from the presentation while I ate it, or not be told what type of cake it really was in order to enjoy it! lol

    Like

    1. I can relate as I clean my own little poop boxes. Then again, if it makes you squeamish, just make it in a regular pan, leave off the tootsie rolls and top with chocolate icing. The cake itself is delish.

      Like

  5. I’ve seen this cake before, and whilst it sounds good from the recipe, I really think I would find the look of it too gross to eat! Personally I prefer my halloween horrors (edible or otherwise) in the shape of bats and ghosts and suchlike! I bet my son would love to make and eat this cake though!

    Like

    1. I know. It took me forever to try it because of the way it looked. I had to have someone cut a piece for me and I had to turn my back to the pan in order to eat it. After that, I was hooked. It really is quite good. I usually forego the tootsie rolls as I’m not a big fan.

      Like

Please join in

