Hurry up and wait


So, I submitted a query to a “dream” publisher on May 30.  I received a request for my full manuscript on June 8.  I had one week to submit.

So, I got 5 sets of eyes on the manuscript.  I edited…read again…edited…read again…rinse and repeat until I couldn’t do anymore.  Around 2 PM on June 14, I held my breath, closed my eyes and hit the ‘send’ button.

Of course, after I submitted, I found mistakes.  It was driving me  nuts.  Several of my lovely writer buddies told me to put it away. It was gone. Nothing I could do about it. Still, I wanted it polished. I wanted perfection.  One side of my brain said there is no such thing. The other side of my brain said yes there is.  I’m conflicted, can you tell?

It’s been 4 days.  I haven’t received a confirmation e-mail that the publisher received the MS, and the website says don’t ask.

So now after all the hurry, I sit and wait.  My nerves are frayed. I may eat a finger or two, maybe a hand, before I hear anything. Pray for me.   My fingernails are already disappearing.

ahhh
Copyright: robodread / 123RF Stock Photo
23 thoughts on “Hurry up and wait

  1. It will be fine, it will be fine, it will be fine… repeat that mantra, together with ‘Nobody’s perfect’, ‘They always take much longer than you expect’ and ‘Time to get cracking on something else’. All very easy for me to say, so apologies for preaching the obvious, but know that my fingers are very much crossed for you!

    Like

    1. Aww, thanks, Marina. yes, I do believe I have time to get something else together for when they talk to me about other W.I.P.s in progress. Gotta keep moving forward.

      Like

  2. There’s always a typo, isn’t there? Chances are, if they want your story/book, they’ll ask you to send another copy in a format of their choosing. So go ahead and polish a little more. When you send the final file, it will be a few typos less.

    Or, just start your next project.

    Like

  3. Ha! Mine are already gone. Actually a little painful. Don’t worry about the email. I checked around. No one got one. If you have done extensive revisions, you can always contact them and say you had an epiphany about a scene, I actually did this quite recently, and the publisher gladly accepted the changes since they had not started reading yet. However, most publishers will not expect any changes to have been made on the manuscript that they are considering, so be careful.

    Like

Please join in

