THE LITTLE SEAHORSE – Another Sheri Fink masterpiece


Best-selling children’s author, Sheri Fink, has done it again.  Before her latest children’s book, THE LITTLE SEAHORSE, hit the shelves, it had already claimed best-seller status.  And it’s no wonder.  Look at that adorable cover, and the story within is just as captivating and charming.  What is it about?  Let’s take a look.

Synopsis:  The bashful Little Seahorse discovers a mysterious object during his adventures and has to learn to speak up for himself and ask for help in order to bring his mother this amazing gift. In the process, he increases his self-confidence and makes wonderful new friends.

I was able to catch up with Sheri to ask her a few questions about her new book and her future plans.  Here’s what she had to say.

***

Where did the idea for The Little Seahorse come from?

I have always been enamored with seahorses. They just look so magical. I visited a few aquariums to discover more about them. Once I visited the Ocean Rider Seahorse Farm in Hawaii and got to hold a few seahorses! I was smitten. They are very special little creatures and I’m happy to get to increase awareness of them through my book.

Oh, you lucky person, you.  Not many people can say they’ve held a live seahorse.  Very cool.  Now, you write picture books for small children. Do you have any plans to test the MG or YA waters at some point in time?

I’m open to the possibility of exploring stories for other age groups. I have a few ideas for chapter books. I’m going to follow my inspiration wherever it takes me.

What was your most embarrassing (but funny) moment as a child?

I was a very serious kid. It’s interesting that I can’t think of any embarrassing moments from childhood that were actually funny. I’m not sure what that says about me. 🙂

If you could be any character from one of your children’s books, who would it be and why?

Hmmm… I relate so well to all of my characters. I would probably choose the Little Firefly. I’m sometimes impatient with myself and just want to achieve my goals already. Sometimes it’s difficult to share that you’re not where you hoped you would be. True friends will love and appreciate you exactly as you are, whether you’ve achieved your goal or not. And, things happen when they’re meant to, not necessarily when we want them to. The Little Firefly discovers unconditional love when she accepts and shares her authentic self. I think we all need that reminder from time to time as we navigate this journey.

Speaking of journeys, what gets you through the rough times in your life?

I’ve always been very hopeful and optimistic. Being a big dreamer helps. I think what’s made the biggest difference for me is surrounding myself with friends who really believe in me. These are wonderful friends who accept me as I am, especially when I’m going through transition and need support.

What is the most memorable moment you’ve had as an adult that took your breath away and made you giddy like a little girl?

I have many moments like this as an adult. I think the most memorable is when the shipment of my first book, The Little Rose, arrived. It was the first time I’d ever seen my words in the physical form of a book, complete with my name on the front and my photo on the back cover. It was such a beautiful moment. I cried tears of joy and gratitude. I do every time I receive the first copies of my new books. It’s a magical experience.

Where is your favorite place to write?

I prefer to write outdoors on a sunny day. I like to sit at a nice patio table with a sunbrella overhead and a cold glass of water by my side. A quiet spot with nature sounds works best for me.

I completely agree.  Now onto more serious matters.  🙂  Your books incorporate animals as the main characters.  Tell us, what is your preference:  dogs or cats?

I love animals. I enjoy cuddling with both cats and dogs (and humans).

Mountains or ocean?

I live near the ocean. There’s something very powerful about the sight, sound, and smell of the ocean for me.

As a Floridian, I completely understand.  Tell us, Sheri.  You’ve won awards for your writing. How does that work? Did you have to submit your books for judging or does someone else submit? 

Most of the book competitions require you to submit your books for consideration. It’s always a fun surprise to find out that your book has been acknowledged. I love it!

Please give us a peek into an average writing day.

I start almost every day with inspirational reading and meditation. After breakfast, I head to the gym and workout. I typically check my email and Facebook during breakfast. I spend about an hour a day responding to a Fan mail, even on writing days and weekends.

After a shower, I sit down and clear my desk. I try to minimize distractions by turning off my phone and removing any objects that might call for my attention while I’m writing. I do a creativity meditation and then listen to brainwave music that’s supposed to stimulate your creativity. It sounds like rain and is very relaxing. It seems to help me focus.

I set little rewards for myself for achieving writing goals throughout the day. For example, if I write for 2 hours, then I can play on Facebook for a half hour. I set bigger rewards for achieving milestones. When I finished writing The Little Gnome, I treated myself to a long weekend in Maui. That’s motivating!

What is your next project?

My next children’s book in The Little Series is The Little Unicorn (coming March 22, 2015). The project I’m working on right now is my debut novel for adults. It’s a fun, sexy, happily ever after story for hopeful romantics like me. I’m really enjoying writing it.

I can hardly wait for The Little Unicorn.  Being a fantasy author, this one will surely touch my heart.  Thank you Sheri for your time and good luck with THE LITTLE SEAHORSE.

Sheri_Fink

Bio:  Sheri Fink is a #1 best-selling, award-winning children’s author, founder of “The Whimsical World of Sheri Fink” children’s brand, and an international speaker. Sheri writes books that inspire and delight children while planting seeds of self-esteem. Her first book, The Little Rose, was a #1 bestseller on Amazon for over 60 weeks and became the #1 top-rated e-book on Amazon. Sheri is the recipient of multiple literary awards including three gold medals in the Readers Favorite International Book Awards. All five of her books are #1 bestsellers.

In 2013, her children’s book series received the Gold Mom’s Choice Award for excellence in family friendly entertainment. Sheri was selected by CBS Los Angeles as one of the top 3 authors in her local area, a distinction she shares with Dean Koontz. Sheri was honored with the 2013 Extraordinary Inspiration award for her long-lasting commitment to spreading inspirational messages of hope and self-esteem through her books, her moving life story, and her brand.

#1 Best-selling, Award-winning Children’s Author and Founder of “The Whimsical World of Sheri Fink” Children’s Brand Become a Fan!

website:  www.TheWhimsicalWorldofSheriFink.com
Facebook:  http://www.facebook.com/SheriFinkFan
Twitter:  http://www.twitter.com/Sheri_Fink

Enhanced by Zemanta
3 thoughts on “THE LITTLE SEAHORSE – Another Sheri Fink masterpiece

  1. Sea horses have always fascinated me, too! When I was young, I entered a contest put on by our local newspaper and won. I anticipated my prize of ‘sea monkeys’, not really sure what it was actually going to get. What I received was NOT a sea monkey at all but the skeleton of a sea horse. It grieved me to no end that the little thing was dead. I would love to Hawaii to play with live ones, as Sheri did.

    I think her story would intrigue ‘Little’ people with its ocean images, especially those children who have grown up in a land-locked city, like me. I’ll have to look up her ‘Little’ series for my grandson. 🙂

    I love her hair! Is that a wig or did she dye it to look like that?

    Like

Please join in

