90% of Darlene Fredette’s stories are fed by this one thing


Today I’m taking the day off from promoting ONE MORE DAY and Dragon Flight and I’m handing over the reigns to the lovely Darlene Fredette, author of the sweet Christmas romance novella, ONE SWEET CHRISTMAS.  If you’re like me and loves to curl up with a cup of hot joe and a sweet little romance, you’re going to love this story.

Darlene, the spotlight is yours.

***

Jenny asked me the other day ‘how much reality do you incorporate into your stories or do you cross the line and merge reality and fiction?’

While there may be a real event that triggers a scene for one of my stories, ninety percent of my stories are purely fed from my imagination…wow, that’s just scary, lol!

The setting for One Sweet Christmas is a combination of a real ski resort, a park with waterfalls, and a small town, all local towns close to where I live. Redford Falls (in One Sweet Christmas) is the reality of those three locations mixed in with lots of fictitious twists to make a new dreamy, wintery town.

In other stories, I have used actual locations, such as the city I live in, but I change the names of restaurants, stores, and other landmarks to match the visual setting of the story line. I might use a statement or comment that someone I know has used because it’s funny or blunt, which fits the personality of one of my characters. That’s about as close as I get to reality in my stories. My life events are not that exciting to be placed into a book, lol.

So if you are reading one of my stories and you see your name, please know the character is not based on you. I just borrowed your name. I wouldn’t want family or close friends to think they are the source of a villain in one of my stories, lol!

Thank you, Jenny, for hosting me today!

BIO:

An avid reader since childhood, Darlene loved to put a pencil to paper and plot out stories of her own. Her writing is a combination of contemporary romance with chick lit flare, and a main focus as a plot-driven page-turner. When Darlene isn’t writing, editing, or reading, she enjoys spending time with her husband, daughter, and Yellow Lab.

 

BACK COVER BLURB:

It’s going to take more than a few pieces of chocolate to fill this Scrooge’s heart with Christmas cheer. Luckily Candice Cane has a whole shop full…

Candice Cane is not proud of the way she acted after her last encounter with Jackson Frost. Sure revenge was fun, but it’s left Jackson standing, angry and looking for answers, on the welcome mat in her chocolate shop. Now he’s after some revenge of his own.

Jackson returned to his small hometown for one reason and one reason only…so he’s not sure how he’s ended up in a Santa suit in the middle of a chocolate shop, at the behest of its beautiful owner, instead of high-tailing it back to the city as fast as he can.

CONTACT LINKS:

Web Blog: http://findingthewritewords.blogspot.com

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/DarleneLF

Twitter: https://twitter.com/DarleneLF

Purchase Links: http://www.escapepublishing.com.au/product/9780857991058#

Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/18656524-one-sweet-christmas?from_search=true

And don’t forget to click on the Rafflecopter Link below to enter for your chance to win a copy of One Sweet Christmas

Rafflecopter Link

THANK YOU for helping me promote One Sweet Christmas!

***

Thank you, Darlene for sharing your story with us AND for giving me a much needed break from my own promoting.  It’s nice helping out other authors get the word out about their books.  I had a lovely time today and feel free to drop in any time.

9 thoughts on “90% of Darlene Fredette’s stories are fed by this one thing

  1. I adored One Sweet Christmas. My current WIP, a YA is a bit biographical of me growing up. Of course, the story takes place almost 30 years after I left high school and I’m having to “update” phrases and things but the meat of the story is still me what I going through in high school.

    My others…purely imagination!

    Marika/Harlie

    Like

Please join in

