Where is your ‘writing zone’ and what does it look like?


Let’s get to the good stuff first.

I have two winners to announce in the Make Believe blog tour giveaway. The following two lucky people have won Make Believe bookmarks signed by little ole me:

M.L. Swift (winner for commenting on my blog on December 4) and
Ruth Ellen Parlour (for commenting on my blog on December 5)

Congratulations!!!Please send me an email at kford2007(at)gmail(dot)com with your physical address so I can send your prize to you.

Now, what’s on the agenda today? Oh yes, I’m over at Kelly Said‘s website chit-chatting it up with her about my writing zone – where it is and what I have in it. I would love it if you check it out and then either leave a comment on Kelly’s site or come back here and tell us where your ‘writer zone’ is and what sort of tidbit(s) one would find in that zone. Do you change up your zone? Are others allowed in your zone? Are you the sort of person that tells everyone to leave you alone while you’re in “the zone”? I would love to hear…rather read…all about it.

20 thoughts on “Where is your ‘writing zone’ and what does it look like?

  1. I tend to do most of my writing at our computer desk in the evening after the kids are in bed, on weekends I try to do so before they wake as well. In the colder months I will grab my big ‘binary blanket’ blanket to get cozy and get typing.

    My wonderful wife says she finds it relaxing to hear the click click click of the keys as I get going, the rhythm of the typing allowing her to doze.

    Like one of the earlier posters, once my zone gets burst it is really hard to get back and I tend to get really grumpy about it.

    I hear movement in one of the kids rooms… so there ends my morning 🙂

    Like

  2. I loved seeing your ‘writing lair, Jenny! 🙂

    I used to have a dungeon den for writing – a nook in the basement with lots of inspirational fantasy & sci-fi posters all over the walls. When that computer crashed, the place became my crafting space. Hubby bought me a MAC laptop which I use in my ‘nest’ – a recliner/rocker in the living room with a side table full of writing materials (pens, pencils, notebooks), Kleenex for when my allergies are acting up, lip balm, hand cream and books I’m trying to find the time to read. There’s a blanket on the arm of my chair that I pull over my tootsies when it gets chilly and when my cat leaves my side where he usually nestles while I write. 🙂

    Like

  3. While I’m boarding here in Castlegar (until next May) my ‘zone’ is in my bedroom. It’s kind of cramped, but there is a window so I can just see the top of the mountains – windows are essential to my rather ‘shut-in’ world! I can always make do with whatever I’m given, but that simply is a must. Umm, so is an endless supply of coffee! My 18-year-old tiny dog, Annie, sleeps on my bed right behind my chair; I’m not allowed out of her sight, lol. I mostly write to classical music; but there are times when absolute quiet is essential for me to write. I’m lucky that my room-mate is also an author, so totally understands and respects ‘the writing zone’! Have a terrific day, Jenny, and all the best with your tour and book! ~ Love, Julie 🙂 xoxox

    Like

  4. I always write at a bookstore. Same table if I can get it and same cup of coffee. I’ve tried writing at home, but there are just too many distractions. In my bookstore spot, I literally fall into a little bubble where its just me and the story. 🙂

    Like

  5. As the subtitle of my blog suggests, my writing zone is my little perch on the sofa. On the arm of the sofa rests whatever cross-stitch I’m working on at the time and the back of the sofa is littered with fandom plushies (Tribbles, and Adipose, The Librarian, Rex from Primeval and a fedora that I battered up to go with my Fourth Doctor scarf). There is always a large beaker of water and my phone on the coffee table, often a glass of wine and the occasional talking Dalek.

    D knows to leave me alone when I’m tapping away, but he is also my proofreader and spellchecker and I appreciate his input.

    Like

    1. Oh, your zone sounds marvelous. So homey and wonderfully girly. Sounds like you have a great someone in D. I think you should keep the talking Dalek around for awhile. 🙂 Thanks for sharing your space with us.

      Like

  6. My zone is at about 10:30 at night, when the house is quiet and dark. When my husband has gone to bed, and it’s my day off. I can write for hours.. If i’m disturbed.. it all disappears and I become enraged :(. (not pretty)

    Like

    1. ooooo, I can get rather irritable, too, if I’m constantly interrupted by silly stuff while I’m typing away. I can’t tell you how many times other carbon units in my home will start asking me stuff when I’m in the middle of a rapidly unfolding scene. I tried to equate it with someone always waking you when you’re on the very edge of falling asleep by, out of nowhere, yelling in your ear or blowing a horn. They don’t get it. 🙂

      Like

Please join in

