Interview with Allie Jean, author of the YA supernatural romance, Legacy of a Dreamer


I am very proud to have as my guest today author, Allie Jean, who has written an amazing YA supernatural romance, Legacy of a Dreamer (you can find all the  details after the interview).

Welcome, Allie.  Thanks for appearing on my blog today.  Let’s get started, shall we?

Q. Tell us about your book!

My book is based on the many nightmares I had when I was younger. I’m not sure really why I had such terrible dreams. I didn’t have a horrible upbringing or anything like that. My mother attributes it to the fact that she allowed me to watch Michael Jackson’s Thriller when I was only three years old. She said she’d never seen me more terrified. The idea for the series had been playing around in my head for many years now, and I finally had the opportunity to put it all down on paper … well, on the laptop, I should say.

Chantal is the main character and she has been stuck in foster care for most of her young life. She doesn’t really know why she’d been taken from her home or what happened to her parents. Her memory of that time is very vague, and she attributes that fact to the possibility that she’d witnessed something traumatizing, and therefore has chosen to black it out. Adding to this theory are the horrible nightmares she has every single night. Only, when the nightmares come hunting for her during her waking hours does she start to second guess her past and start searching for the truth.

Q. What is your main character’s greatest strength, biggest flaw?

Chantal’s greatest strength is her unending perseverance. Despite this world she’s thrown into, Chantal keeps her eyes staring straight ahead of her, taking up whatever she needs to in order to keep herself and others safe from those that hunt them all. Chantal is loyal and incredibly fierce. Her biggest flaw, I’d say, is that perhaps she trusts way too easily. We see it a bit in Legacy, but more so in Book #2.

Q. What is the hardest part of writing for you?

The time it can take away from my family and responsibilities. It didn’t matter so much when I wrote for fun, not thinking anyone would ever read what I had going on in my head. Now that I know my work is actually being seen, its more daunting, and I catch myself over analyzing every little bit I write, which of course takes me twice as long to write.

Q. What one question do you wish an interviewer would ask you but never has?

Um, maybe who is the person on the front of you book cover? The answer is my sister, Marissa.

Q. What are you working on now? Do you tend to work on multiple projects or one at a time?

I work on many projects at one time, that’s my downfall. Right now I’m writing Book#2 for the Dreamer Series, and a couple of pet projects on the side.

Q. What is your favorite line from this book?

I love when Mathias is in her apartment and just finished destroying a Seeker who’d come to kill Chantal. She’s always called him Nick, because up until that point, he’d been only a shadow she’d talk to to keep herself company at night. Anyways, he’s done fighting the Seeker and Chantal calls him Nick. He stops and smiles at her and says. “You know, I always wondered why you called me that.” It makes me laugh every time.

Q. What are you reading right now? Do you read a book at a time or more than one?

Right now I’m reading Shadow of Night by Deborah Harkness. I usually read one book at a time, but I always keep one on audiobook that way I can ‘read’ and do the laundry at the same time.

Q. What do you like to do when you’re not writing? Any hobbies?

My kids are my hobby. They keep me pretty busy running them all to different events and things. I have four kids and work part-time as a nurse in a local ICU. Writing, I would say, is my hobby.

Q. Who is your favorite writer now?

That’s a tough one . . . I’m going to go with JK Rowling. Putting together this series and creating a whole other world is such a daunting task, I don’t know how she did it so completely. She’s brilliant, and I admire her for that and so many reasons.

Q. Chocolate or ice cream? What kind?

Chocolate!!!! If you would’ve asked me that five years ago, my answer would’ve been different.

Q. Dogs or cats?

If I wasn’t allergic, I’d say Cats all the way. Though I love dogs, there’s a certain diva-ness to the feline species that is almost otherworldly. I read somewhere once that cats were a higher species. It wouldn’t surprise me.

Q. Favorite flower?

Lillies.

***

Thanks, Allie, for taking time to be here.  I really loved learning more about you and your book, as I’m sure my readers did too.

So, how about it guys?  Want to know more about Legacy of a Dreamer?  Take a peek.

Chantal Breelan is a ward of the state, living under the care of a woman who is cold and heartless. Her past is a mystery, and her future is even more uncertain. She can’t recall why she had been taken from her parents and so she’s left with nothing but an empty hole where her childhood should have been. When she awakens from her nightmares, she’s left with terrible, violent images, as well as a boy whose face is oddly familiar, yet can’t be placed.

Scared and alone, Chantal begins to confide in an imaginary friend – a shadow in the shape of a man who stands in the corner of her room. She is comforted when she believes he listens to her.

On her eighteenth birthday, Chantal is forced to leave her foster home. She moves to New York City, but the start of her new life doesn’t begin as smoothly as she’d hoped. In this environment, she faces a whole new set of challenges.

One night at a subway station, Chantal meets a young boy who runs away from her, and she’s compelled to follow him down into the tunnels. But this Rabbit Hole reveals a world where reality is a nightmare. Her dreams are clues to her future, and her life becomes twisted and dangerous when she learns that things that go bump in the night are not just in fairy tales and childhood stories

Debut book and winner of the TWCS Romance contest

Contact and Book info:

website

Twitter:  @alliejeands

Facebook

Goodreads

Author Bio:  Allie Jean was born with an overactive imagination. At a very early age, a child, her days were spent inventing stories, directing her sisters in made-up plays or telling elaborate ghost stories. Her mind never took breaks, or shutdown, even when she slept. When her eyes shut at night, she would have vivid dreams complete with extensive, elaborate plot lines, and good overcoming evil villains.

She was encouraged by her parents, even at a young age, to write down her tales, and it has remained a somewhat secret hobby. It became a means to escape from the drama of real life into one of the many worlds she created.

Now, living in California with her husband of ten years, her love of storytelling had taken a back seat with the arrival of their four children. Though, she always found time to write down her thoughts on whatever was handy, including a stray diaper or two while rocking a sleeping child in the middle of the night when her character’s begged for attention as well.

As a busy wife, mother and working full-time outside the home, somehow she has been able to write down her relentless character’s story. Her once secret hobby and private world, is now released for other’s to enjoy. Nothing would make Allie happier that to continue writing and spend more time at home with her family on a more full-time basis.

 

12 thoughts on “Interview with Allie Jean, author of the YA supernatural romance, Legacy of a Dreamer

  1. Hi Vikki – I’d love to participate. I’ll head over to the link to check it out. Thanks for thinking of me. I’m so glad to hear so many people are enjoying the concept of the book. 😀

    Mywithershins – I totally agree with you there. I think I read somewhere that Stephanie Meyer was inspired to right Twilight after dreaming of the meadow scene. And Stephen King has been inspired by his dreams, too. Trust me when I say that my nightmares were definately not fun when I had them, but to relive them through Chantal was an interesting experience. Thanks for reading, ladies.

    Like

  2. I had a great time with the interview. Thanks so much for having me. It turned out my sister was perfect for the image of Chantal. For the second book, my other sister Kelsey will take over the job.

    Thanks for reading, ladies!

    Like

  3. Sounds like a great book! Loved the interview, and that your sister is on your cover:-) We made a cover with my sister on it too, but it’s not the one the publisher used–her looks are what I based my main character’s on~gOOd luCK with your hobby~cheers

    Like

  4. A lovely interview, and sounds like a great book. I always hesitate to read interviews like this because I know that it will end up being another book I want to add to my ever growing list of books to read (I know everyone has a list like that!).

    Like

Please join in

