“You want to do what?”


When I told a blogger buddy I was going to take a week, maybe two off, she yelled at me via e-mail:  “You want to do what?  You can’t take a week or two off from blogging.  What about your followers?  What about two book reviews you owe us?  How will I survive?”

Okay, so we can all see she was a little melodramatic, but it made me chuckle.  The truth is I have this novel, and I’m not focusing on it like I should because the internet is my playground, and I’ve been far more active on it than on my novel.  I gave myself an August 1 deadline and it didn’t work because I was playing on my blog, writing on other blogs, and playing Drakensang (shh, it’s  a free high fantasy MMORPG game).  Anyway, I have to put my foot down.

I watched Michael Phelps win his 22 Olympic medal last night and I realized he didn’t get there by partying around.  He had a goal.  He trained for that goal, and he excelled.  I guess you could say I’ve put myself in a training frame of mind.  I have a goal…I want my book published.  It’s not going to do it on its own, so I need to quit the distractions for a while and focus.  While my blog is not ‘goofing around’ like playing video games is, it is still taking me away from my goal.

For this week, at least, I am making myself scarce.  Depending on how far I get with my edits will depend on how much of next week I take off.  I know one of my fave blog and author buddies will surpass me in blog hits (I’ve sort of been in a self-imposed race with her and she’s been catching up fast), but that’s okay.  I have to focus on Dragon King right now.  I have teens and a pre-teen chomping at the bit to beta read it, and I’d like to get in their greedy little hands before they start school again.

With that said, I bid you a fond farewell.  I hope you stick around.  I’ll see you next week, lovely peeps, with an update – to blog or not to blog.

Stay healthy and happy.  Keep sweet.  Yours truly…

Jen

and say no more.  Get your book done.

18 thoughts on ““You want to do what?”

  1. Happy writing! I am still catching up with blogs I’ve neglected for the past few weeks – and I still have so much to do before the end of the month. I might have to take a break from it too. Hope your break is as productive as possible. 🙂

    Like

  2. You’ve got a great analogy, although I prefer Gabi to Michael Phelps. Gabi left the comfort of home to focus on training. If the Internet is a comfortable home, then your choice is to leave it and focus on your art. Great! (Now if I can do the same…)

    Like

  3. You go girl! We will be here when you get back. And I don’t expect another blog from you until there is a beta in my inbox.

    And I will slap you and hold you to it

    WHAT ARE YOU DOING REDING THIS? GET BACK TO WORK

    Like

  4. Happy writing! I think blogging is much more time consuming than any of us imagined when we started it, especially reading and commenting on others, but it’s also kind of addictive isn’t it! See you on the other side 😉

    Like

  5. Good for you. I’ll be returning from my “break” in the next day or two. We all need to do that from time to time. Of course, mine was spent on vacation and not writing, but it’s all good. 🙂

    Like

  6. Yay, good for you, Jenny! Of course, I will miss you … but this faithful follower will still be here when you return! And my plate is really really full right now, too, so I totally understand. Happy writing and happy editing! Sending you positive energies, love and hugs, Julie xoxox

    Like

Please join in

