Rally around and lend your support


A dear writer buddy of mine (who has asked to remain unknown for the time being), has written a wonderful and enchanting, very young middle grade novel that was just rejected for the 11th time.  “Amanda” just got the letter in the mail and is feeling very, very down in the dumps today.  Troops, please rally around and offer up your ‘go get ’em’ pats on the back.  She can use all the encouragement she can get.  Also, if you know of any agents and/or publishers taking middle grade fiction right now, please put that in your post and I’ll make sure she sees the info.

To “Amanda” and all you other beautiful peeps, I dedicate this song to you.

18 thoughts on “Rally around and lend your support

  1. So good of you to help your friend out. Rejection sucks, there’s no easy wy to put it and I’ve cried my share of tears and regret that this one or that one didn’t make it. Hugs that this time didn’t work out, but don’t give up, you’re pathing the path to success!!

    Like

  2. I know how rejection feels, its happened to me too many times, if nothing else, e-publish the book yourself and prove its worth it, Just never ever give up on yourself and your gifts. You have them for a reason!

    Like

  3. Hi everyone. I’m “Amanda”. I don’t know what to say to all of you but thank you for all your kind words. I can’t believe Jenny did this. I am humbled and thankful for such friends. All of you have really lifted my spirits. Butterfly, I’ll take your advice and treat this as if I were searching to buy a home. Not every house I look at is going to fit me and my needs. When I find it, I’ll know. Until then, I’ll bide my time and know, someday, it will happen.

    Like

  4. Oh how I hate the term rejected… I like to think that stories have to find the right home. Like instead of saying, it was rejected 11 times, think of it as, it visited 11 potential homes on its journey to find the right home =)

    Like

  5. This may be kind of long, but it’s what I pull out whenever I’m doubting myself.

    Madeline L’Engle’s book, A Wrinkle in Time, was turned down 29 times before she found a publisher.
    C.S. Lewis received over 800 rejections before he sold a single piece of writing.
    Margaret Mitchell’s Gone With the Wind was rejected by 25 publishers.
    Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance was rejected 121 times.
    Johathan Livingston Seagull was rejected 40 times.
    Louis L’Amour was rejected over 200 times before he sold any of his writing.
    The San Francisco Examiner turned down Rudyard Kipling’s submission in 1889 with the note, “I am sorry, Mr. Kipling, but you just do not know how to use the English language.”
    An editor once told F. Scott Fitzgerald, “You’d have a decent book if you’d get rid of that Gatsby Character.”
    The Dr. Seuss book, And to Think I Saw it on Mulberry Street, was rejected for being “too different from other juveniles on the market to warrant selling.”
    George Orwell’s Animal Farm was rejected with the comment, “It’s impossible to sell animal stories in the USA.”
    The manuscript for The Diary of Anne Frank received the editorial comment, “This girl doesn’t, it seems to me, have a special perception or feeling which would lift that book above the curiosity level.”

    Like

  6. Jenny, you’re an awesome friend and a wonderful supporter; what a sweet thing to do for your writer friend! “Amanda”, I’m still in the second draft of my first ever novel, so I haven’t reached the stage you’re at – but listen to the words of those who have commented that are, and take heart. You will get there! Congratulations on completing your novel; it sounds wonderful! ((((Hugs)))) 🙂

    Like

  7. Part of the professional writing process is the Dreaded Rejection Letter. Never give up. Believe in yourself and your novel. Eleven rejections? Yeah, they sting, but my stack is higher than your stack. 😉

    “Not right for them…” “Doesn’t fit our needs at this time…”

    Whatever the reason, congratulate yourself that you have a book to query, the courange to make that query, and know that this moment will pass. You’ll soon begin to look forward instead of back, and there is an agent out there who is a fit for your work.

    Like

  8. We’ve all heard the stories about the many writers who shopped their manuscripts for years, receiving hundreds of rejections along the way to finally being published and becoming successful. One well-known writer whose name I forgot had has writing ridiculed so badly in college that after a year of college he never went back and even forgot that he ever attended. Only his classmates remembered anything of it. Rejection may be the most painful part of the path to publication, but is not the hardest part. The hardest part is finishing that first novel. Few writers ever get that far, so that’s HUGE, and I’m certain that with the demand for that age group, publication is certainly only a matter of time. Take heart.

    Like

  9. How sweet of you to do this for your friend! Let her know that there are a lot of us who have been through all that and received enough rejection letters to paper a wall! After 10 years of persistence, I finally got published. I know that seems like a long time to wait, but let her know she should keep writing and don’t give up! Best wishes. 🙂

    Like

    1. Thank you. “Amanda” is actually a little shocked I posted about her, but she is also is amazed by all the kind words and support from people she doesn’t even know. (Maybe this will convince her to get that blog going…:))

      Like

Please join in

