The joy of writing


What is your favorite part about writing?  Do you like to research?  Do you like developing your plots?  Do you get the most joy out of creating your characters?

My favorite part of writing is the writing itself.  I love, no wait…LOVE…it when I sit at my computer and my fingers fly across the keyboard at lightning speed for  hours.  I can’t stop the flow.  It’s as if the novel is playing out like a screenplay in my head and I can see it, hear the voices, see the setting and it’s all coming out of my fingertips like magic.  It’s like being possessed but in a wonderful, spiritual way.  What I marvel at even more is, after putting what I wrote aside for a few days, I come back to it and I question, “Did I write this?  Really?  This came out of me?”  I love those moments of “This is Brilliant!”  It doesn’t happen often but when it does, I get hooked on writing even more.

What about you?  What keeps you writing?

5 thoughts on “The joy of writing

  1. What keeps me going is the idea that one day, just one day, I might actually have a “This is Brilliant” moment lol 😉

    What I enjoy the most is making up characters….I think it goes back to being a child and playing with my dolls houses 🙂

    Like

  2. ooo! For me, I love to see an idea that was swirling around in my mind become a reality. There’s nothing more exciting than to write a story, work and worry over all those little pieces until they blend beautifully, read it and then go WHOA! I wrote this! This was in my head and now it’s tangible, hehehe! Great post. I see your next book to read is The Scorpio Races – can’t wait to see what you think about that! 🙂

    Happy Saturday!
    Kelly Said 🙂

    Like

Please join in

