E-Gad! Two months to Christmas and I’m out of vanilla extract!


And what does this have to do with writing?  Nothing.  Absolutely nothing.

But holy crap! I looked at the calendar and it dawned on me, Christmas is 2 months away – to the day.  That means only one thing:  restock the spice cabinet!

I found out I needed, among many things, whole cloves, baking powder, and vanilla extract.  But it can’t be any vanilla extract.  It has to be homemade.  So…  time to get in the attic and bring down my mason jars and make a store run for rum and vanilla beans.  Yum, heaven.

So, how do you make homemade vanilla extract? Oh my gosh, it’s so easy, and I swear  you’ll never go back to store-bought again, but you’ve got to get started now (within the next 3 – 4 days at the latest).

You’re going to need:

a jar with a tight-fitting lid
3 vanilla beans
about a cup of rum (I prefer Appleton Jamaican Rum over Bacardi or Meyers). Taste it and you’ll understand why.

First, sterilize your jar and lid by pouring boiling water over them and then letting them soak in the scalding bath for about 10 minutes.

Next, with a sharp pair of kitchen scissors or paring knife, cut your vanilla beans in half, leaving an inch at the end connected.

vanilla-extract-1.jpg

Place the three beans in your sterilized glass jar with tight-fitting lid and cover with rum.

Seal it up good and tight and store in a dark cupboard for two months.  Once a week, give it a good shake and return it to it’s dark hiding spot.  Come December 24, you’ll have the best vanilla extract to ever cross your tongue.

Look at that great color!  And, the great thing is, it never runs out as long as you keep adding the rum.

I hope you try this recipe.  I know you will love it.  Enjoy!!!

6 thoughts on “E-Gad! Two months to Christmas and I’m out of vanilla extract!

Please join in

