Dinner and a movie and a . . . contest?


So, in just a few days, the end of an era will occur. The final installment of the Harry Potter films, Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, Part II, will release in theaters on July 15, 2011.

I already have my tickets. After all, how could I miss it?

I have been invested in the Harry Potter stories ever since I bought my daughter a paperback copy of the 1st book at her elementary school book fair all those years ago. My daughter is now in college getting her Master’s degree, if that speaks for the longevity of these novels.

The Order of the Phoenix is my favorite book by far and have read it at least six times if not more. I don’t have a favorite film because I think they strayed too much from the books. I am looking forward to this last installment, however, because I want to see how they pull off the fighting scenes and sequences. I mean, other than the ending of the Order of the Phoenix, this will be the most action-packed intense ending of all the Harry Potter films. Those who haven’t read the books will find out if Harry lives or dies. I hope the producers leave it at that part . . . that ending . . . because the actual final ending is just too sappy for me. Not what I wanted to read at the end of this book. I would have been perfectly content reaching the end instead of reading about what happens to certain folks later in life. Oh, whatever. I supposed the movie will have to end the same way. It would only be the fair thing to do for J.K. Rowling.

It will be the typical ‘dinner and a movie’ on July 15, probably eating pizza or hamburgers before we go. We’ll be glued to our seats for 2 ½ hours and of course it will be the talk of the town for the next umpteen weeks. I couldn’t ask for more a week before setting foot into Hogsmeade at Harry Potter World at Universal Studios on July 23. I’ve been craving some butter beer. And, for some lucky Harry Potter fan of my website, I’ll even send you a postcard postmarked from Hogsmeade. All you have to do is sign up for an e-mail subscription to my blog and then answer the following question about my hopefully soon-to-be-published novel, In the Shadow of the Dragon King:

What does David find that upset him so much he almost passed out?

You can find the answer here.

The winner will be randomly selected and announced on July 20th!

So, between now and July 15, I will re-read the Deathly Hallows just to make sure the book is fresh in my mind. I will, of course, watch the 1st ½ of the DH again on the 15th so I’ll be in ‘continuation’ mode, and I’ll share my thoughts with all of you on the 16th. I hope it ends as well as I’m expecting. After all, it is the end of an era. What better way than to go out with a bang!

2 thoughts on “Dinner and a movie and a . . . contest?

  1. What I love about the books is that way that the story is built up from one book to the next, like a single novel in seven books, rather than a series of novels. As far as I’m aware this is unique. I just wish I could pull off something comparable!

    Like

    1. My series of novels in the Chronicles of Fallhollow series works the same way – like one big book divided into three parts. Each one a stand-alone but to find out what happens and if David gets his wish, the reader has to follow it through to the end. I wish you luck with your novels. Do you have anything posted yet for feedback?

      Like

Please join in

