Sweaty palms, heart palpitations, butterflies in tummy, oh my!


Why is it I always have these panic attacks when I submit any one of my works to an agent or publisher? Do I doubt my writing ability? Nooo. Do I think the agent or publisher is going to show up at my door and yell at me? Nooo. Do I fear my computer will explode if the editor or publisher doesn’t like it? Nooo. So what gives?

Let’s face it. It’s all about rejection. No one likes rejection. We as sensitive humans tend to take it too personally. I mean, these are our literary babies we’re talking about. What do you mean you don’t want it? Who couldn’t want this nice little bundle of perfectly placed dialogue and narrative? And yet, when our babies leave the confines of our computers and land on the desk of those with the power to nurture or kill them, we freak out.

I guess it all comes down to understanding the business (a rejection of your MS is not a rejection of you), and having faith in your novel. So what if an agent or publisher rejects your story. If you keep trying, someone, somewhere will gobble it up. You just have to keep trying and believing and never take no for an answer.

That’s what I did tonight. My palms broke out into a cold sweat as I hit that submit button but I figured, what’s the worst thing that could happen. Better yet, what’s the best thing that could happen? I think I’ll ride on the positive for a while, and hope for the best. After all, my baby is worth it.

One thought on “Sweaty palms, heart palpitations, butterflies in tummy, oh my!

  1. Check out the new book ,
    ~Ethan Wright and the Curse of Silence~ by the up and coming Author Kimbro West
    A true adventure full of action, mystery and a little humour. Suitable for young and old.

    Like

Please join in

