Need help with that blasted query letter?


I think one of the most popular blog titles among aspiring authors is how do we write a query letter? There seems to be so much information out there and a lot of it is inconsistent. Some agents tell you to place your character’s name in all caps when you mention him the first time while others say absolutely not. Then there are other agents who say questions inside your query are okay, while others pull their hair out when they see rhetorical questions in a query. But the biggest complaint I hear so many people ask (myself included) is how do you take a 70,000 word novel and condense it into 2 paragraphs? I don’t know about you but I was pulling my hair out over this one.

Until I saw this video from Kristen Nelson, Agent. Now I have peace in my life. I have a query I can live with. I really can, and I owe it all to her and these two little hints. Geez. I love it when someone says something and a lightbulb goes off. I love my beta readers even more when they give the thumbs up and say ‘Go for it!”

I hope Kristen’s video helps you as much as it did me.

One thought on “Need help with that blasted query letter?

Please join in

