Do references to music in your writing have subtle meanings?


I got to thinking about this tonight as I was going through yet another edit of my novel to make sure I have all spaces correct, all i’s dotted and t’s crossed, and I came across a song my main character wakes up to: Dream On by Aerosmith. I placed the reference to this song in my novel for a reason as it speaks volumes about what David is feeling.

For those of you who quote or reference music in your novels, are there subliminal messages you are sending out (and hope people head over to YouTube to listen), or is it there just to add a little depth, a little background ‘noise’?

Please join in

