Which part of a novel or story do you find hardest to write?


For me it is the end where I have to wrap everything up, tie everything together, and bring the story to a close while leaving an opening for the next book to follow in the series. I re-wrote the ending of In the Shadow of the Dragon King about 4 times before I got it to where I was happy with it.

Too bad we can’t keep ‘re-writing’ real life until we get the ending right, eh? šŸ™‚

An odd twist to all of this, though, is that I wrote the ending to the third and final book in the Chronicles of Fallhollow series before I ever wrote a word on the 1st book, and I refuse to change it. I think I am happy with this ending because it is truly ‘the end’. With the 1st two books, there is no real ‘end’, only a continuation, and it takes that perfect ending to make readers’ want to wait a year or more to read on. I hope I have accomplished this with my first novel.

So, what is the hardest part of your novel or story to write, and why?

3 thoughts on “Which part of a novel or story do you find hardest to write?

  1. Yeah I no what you mean about endings! They are really tricky, you feel so attached. But I think for me the most tricky part is when your trying to connect up the really juicy scenes and trying to keep it as interesting as it can be. Its sometimes a question of should I just cut this out!?
    I find romantic scenes have their cut off point. I think less is more, you don’t want your reader to be embarassed and skip a couple of pages as I have often done, so I like to cut off any romance scenes before you get to anything steamy! Lol šŸ™‚

    Like

  2. The most draining are any intimate scenes. Screw up an intimate scene and you lose a lot of credibility, because if you can’t get it right then it shouldn’t be in there (imo).
    Fight scenes can be difficult, or ones where you need to get the tension and pce working in perfect symmetry with one another to ensure the reader gets dragged along with the characters ride.
    But then those scenes where you need to weave in details for the reader to understand sequence of events/character behaviour or decisions or personalities, yet make them so they read as a natural procession of the story rather than a load of tell or info dump.
    And I’ve only once altered an ending on a novel, and then expanded a novella to add an epilogue at the request of an editor. šŸ™‚

    Like

    1. I couldn’t agree more. I have found fight scenes difficult as you don’t want to come across as presenting a play by play move as if reading a screenplay. I have found in writing romance scenes or fight scenes, less is usually more. You want to give enough info to cover the subject but leave it short enough to make it interesting. I don’t write many ‘intimate’ scenes as I’m just not comfortable writing them and they really aren’t my ‘thing’, but I commend anyone who can do it and do it well. Whenever I attempt them, they always sound so cheesy. but then again, so do all the romance novels I read. I just roll my eyes and think, “Ah, geez, not again.” šŸ™‚ Most of the time I skim over them because the scenes are so ‘silly’.

      For me, editing and great beta readers usually point out and find areas of info dumps that can usually be fixed once they are pointed out. All I can say is Thank you, thank you, to my beta readers!!! You guys rock more than I can say.

      Thanks for your comments, Julie. Great response!

      Like

Please join in

