Have you ever tired of reading your own novel?


My answer to that question is ‘yes’! I’ve absolutely gotten tired of reading my own novel. After about the 3 thousandth edit I started wondering if my characters have always been so two-dimensional or the plot lines so predictable. Sometimes I am certain that I’ve spent many years on 90k words of drivel and not a single word is worthwhile.

That is until I hear from beta readers who tell me they can’t stop thinking about my novel, even when they aren’t trying to think about it. Yes, there are some minor tweaks that need to be done but overall, the story is compelling and impossible to put down.

Wow! What a compliment! Comments like this make me so happy. But if they make me happy, why do I feel like heaving the entire manuscript into the shredder? Oh, trust me I won’t do that because I believe in my novel. Could it be a sign meant to convince me my work is done and it’s time to move on? I have moved on by the way. Book 2 is about half done and I will soon seek beta readers for it. Maybe by the time I’ve finished book 2, book 1 will regain its appeal, at least for me.

What about you? Do you ever tire of reading your own writing?

6 thoughts on “Have you ever tired of reading your own novel?

  1. I do get tired of my work but not so tired if I still believe in it. Most of the time I just feel it isn’t good enough when I read it over or I find it uneven.
    Then back for more editing.

    Like

  2. Yes … which is why I put so much distance between the 4th edit and the 5th … like MONTHS. It helps to refresh and rejuvenate and if on that latter pass, I still love it? Then I am sold on the story. 🙂

    Like

  3. Yeah i know what you mean! I think for me I just want to write and re-drafting seems dull in comparison to the endless possibilities of what cold be next!

    Like

  4. Yes–in a nutshell.
    Darkness and Light? Must have read and edited … pffff, couldn’t even tell you how many times.
    I nudged it aside to work on other stuff. Didn’t look at it again until I posted it on a critiquing site, where I received excellent feedback for bringing it to life. So, I picked it back up again, and rewrote it from scratch. Since then, it’s been through a whole load of edits. Now it’s sitting pretty a while, so I can do a final round with fresh eyes. The very reason to described above, is why it’s so important to allow your work to sit between major edits, otherwise your eyes cease to see what’s on the page, but rather dictate what your mind already recalls is there. 🙂

    Like

Please join in

