What is the method to your madness?


I was just talking to a friend of mine on Facebook about different writing styles. She’s more streamlined and can’t write out of sequence. I, on the other hand, am chaotic in my writing. I write scenes as they come to me and incorporate them later when I get to them in my books. The last line of the second novel in my Chronicles of Fallhollow series was written before the first word of the 1st novel in the series. Crazy, huh.

So what is your method to your writing madness?

3 thoughts on “What is the method to your madness?

  1. I usually write in sequence, however I do wake up often at about two o clock in the morning with an idea for a ‘scene’ and will have to write whatever it is thats in my head before I can go to sleep. i’m pretty sure this is close to insanity!! But its just the way my brain works.
    More often than not the twists, major characters or plot changes come from dreams or midnight writing sessions. It drives my parents insane!!
    So abit of both I suppose!

    Hannah

    Like

  2. In order 99.9% of the time. I wrote out of order once only because the scene came in a dream and I had to get it down first. But other than that, every scene, every action goes from start to finish. I’ll even have the ending at my fingertips but NOT write it until I actually GET to the end. 🙂

    Like

  3. You need me to answer, as I’m said fb friend? Nope, I can’t write out of sequence. Very–very–occasionally, a conversation between characters will pop into my head that I don’t want to lose, or (what I consider to be) a line of such awesomeness I can’t risk forgetting, so I’ll jot them right at the bottom of my document–but they have to be where I can’t see them or they’ll distract me to the point I’ll delete. And most of the time they never stay the same when I come to use them, but the idea of them will point me in the right direction. But my first two novels were written as each scene arrived in my mind, and they’ve turned out okay, so that’s obviously what works for me. 🙂

    Like

Please join in

