Heavenly delicious sugar cookies even kids can make


I love sugar cookies.  They’re light, airy, not too heavy, and they satisfy that gnawing sweet tooth we all get every now and then.

I love my grandmother’s recipe for sugar cookies but it takes too long with all the refrigeration and such, so you can imagine how happy I was when a friend passed on this super quick recipe for what can only be described as heavenly sugar cookies.  Yes, these deserve angelic music, halos and wings.  The great thing about making these cookies is you probably have everything on hand right now to make a batch.  In fact, they’re so easy, a child can make them (with your ever so watchful eyes, of course).

So, without further ado, I give you the awesome, super quick Heavenly Delicious Sugar Cookies

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup softened butter or margarine
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 3 cups flour
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder

Steps:

Preheat oven to 400 degrees

In large mixing bowl, cream butter, sugar, egg and vanilla extract, until blended. Add Flour and baking powder and mix well. To make traditional round sugar cookies, scoop out teaspoons full of dough, roll into small balls and flatten with fork to about 1/4″ thickness or roll out to use cookie cutters. Sprinkle lightly with sugar or colored sprinkles for fun. Bake 7-8 minutes until just starting to brown around the edges.  Let cool then munch and share.

Enhanced by Zemanta
11 responses to “Heavenly delicious sugar cookies even kids can make

  1. I’m not a cook, but I’m certainly going to try to make these, Jenny! :D

  2. They’re so simple, even I can make them and they’re really good. Let me know how they turn out.

  3. Thanks for the great recipe! I always dread making sugar cookies at Christmas because they take so much work. Next year, I’ll have to try these. Yum!

  4. one of my favorite cookies…especially Homemade!

  5. Sugar cookies are Dude’s favorite. He always gets mad when I roll them in cinnamon, but I just love snickerdoodles. :-)

  6. I LOVE sugar cookies!! Will save this!!

Please join in

