Succulent, Juicy, Meaty, Yumminess


What woman doesn’t like her meat succulent, juicy and packed with yummy goodness?  I know this one does and I recently learned a great secret to make that old Tom Turkey fall apart wonderful.  

What?  Huh?   Did she say Turkey?

Yes, I said turkey.  What did you think I was talking about?  Anyway, you wanna know the secret?

Brine.

Yep.  Brining a turkey before you cook it makes the bird so tender its legs and wings fall apart, and the breast meat is OMGosh wonderful.  What are my secret ingredients?

  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 1 tbsp each:  rubbed sage, thyme and rosemary
  • 2 quarts of apple  juice (this will NOT make your turkey taste like apples)
  • 1 gallon of cold water
  • 1 cup of kosher or sea salt
  • 6 cloves garlic – peeled and crushed 

Mix all ingredients together.  Place your turkey in a huge container large enough for the turkey but small enough to put in the refrigerator.  Pour the liquid in the container with the turkey and set it inside the refrigerator for at least 8 hours but no longer than 24.  If the liquid doesn’t cover the turkey, make sure you periodically turn the turkey so each side gets a chance to sit in the brine.

After you soak the turkey for at least 8 hours, rinse the bird really well, let it sit in the container in the fridge for about 2 more hours as more brine will release from the bird.  Rinse the bird again really well, then pat dry.

Lift the skin from the breast of the turkey and rub melted butter, mixed with rosemary, thyme and sage, beneath the skin on the turkey breast.  Salt and pepper the skin and your bird is ready to cook.

I never thought brining a turkey would make so much difference, but I will never cook a turkey ever again without doing so.  Try it and then come back and tell me if your meat isn’t the most succulent, juicy, fantastic yumminess you’ve ever put in your mouth.

9 responses to “Succulent, Juicy, Meaty, Yumminess

  1. That sounds great, I only wish we were having turkey now so that I could try that out! My kids asked for us to have duck for Christmas dinner so that’s what we’re having!

  2. Very nice way to prep a turkey. :-)

  3. Yummmmm. Can I come to your house for dinner? (Just kidding.)

    Have a good Christmas.

  4. sounds good…if I had only read this sooner…but, there is another time…

  5. Wish I would have seen this before our Holiday Turkey. Hmm…. I do, by coincidence (or fate?) have another turkey in the freezer. I’m thinking I shall brine the bugger prior to cooking. Thanks!

Please join in

