Angels are all around – all you have to do is look


Today, the lovely Vikki over at The View Outside, nominated my blog for the 2012 Blog of the Year Award.  

20121211-085059.jpg

Check out The Blog Of The Year Award Page for rules and info on how it all works.

I sort of swore off blog ‘awards’ a while back because I always struggled with two issues:  (1) who to nominate and (2) I didn’t want to come off sounding like a big stuck-up know-it-all.  “Oh look at me.  I got an award and you didn’t.”  See, when I was growing up, my mom taught me to never toot my own horn because no one likes a braggart.  Her deal was, if people think you’re great they’ll tell the world, not you.  For the longest time I cowered behind my accomplishments because it was “wrong” to ‘gloat’.

Not anymore.

Over the past couple of years, life’s thrown some hard knocks my way.  Up until a few weeks ago, I teetered every day on the precipice of a deep, dark depression.  Then God worked a miracle.  He sent a couple of angels to me who were able to lift a dark veil from my eyes enough for me to see the angels already hard at work around me.  My life changed in an instant.  I can’t explain it.  I am truly blessed to have so many people around me who believe in my endeavors, my dreams, and shout about my accomplishments.  I may not have many blog followers, but the ones I have are loyal and true, and I don’t hesitate to shout their names from the mountaintops of their  accomplishments and what they mean to me and my life.

Today, Vikki honored me with the nomination for the 2012 Blog of the Year award, and I gladly accept.  Over the next three Sundays, I will nominate bloggers who have been angels to so many people, not just me.  They touch the blogging community with their wit, their honesty, their perseverance, craftiness and genuineness.  It’s time to honor those who have given so much to others.  This weeks nominees for the 2012 Blog of the Year award are:

mywithershins

Jennifer M. Eaton

Victoria-writes

Kourtney Heintz

Wanton Creation

Robin Coyle

Rantings of an Amateur Chef

I am so blessed to have these angels in my life and I consider it an honor to pass this award on to them.

In closing, I’m hitching a ride over on Rebecca Hart’s blog.  She is such a love and agreed to interview me as part of the Make Believe blog tour.  Rebecca’s also written a really great novel, Call of the Sea.  You’ve got to read it.  (It makes a great gift, too!)

Okay, folks, that’s a wrap for today.  Hugs to all of you and thanks for visiting me today at the Dreamweaver’s Cottage.  Until next time.

Quote of the day:

“Who is the happiest of men? He who values the merits of others, and in their pleasure takes joy, even as though ’twere his own.” ~ Johann Wolfgang von Goethe

20 responses to “Angels are all around – all you have to do is look

  1. Hahaha! Thanks, Jenny! I was just popping by to tell you that I’ve nominated you, too! Now you have 2 stars! :)

  2. Congratulations x and thanks for the pingback! There really are angels aren’t there? And Heaven really does Happen x My life too has been like walking over a mine field in hobnail boots recently but my angels keep me going ~ and I have been blessed with a new grandson, Stanley! You can read all about him on my blog at http://heavenhappens.wordpress.com

  3. I’m glad you decided to accept honey :)

    I actually went as far as drafting a post saying I wouldn’t be accepting anymore awards and then I realised its my opportunity to highlight blogs that I love, and that’s what it’s all about :)

    Xx

  4. Awe! Thanks so much! YOu totally ROCK!

  5. Congratulations!!

    I love angels.. xoxoxoxo

  6. Congrats Jenny! Your blog is a wonderful part of my online life and definitely a highlight of 2012. :) I think it’s important to recognize your accomplishments. You’ve done so much this year. You’re an inspiration to me. :) Thanks for the nomination, I happily accept it!

  7. Pingback: Blog of the Year Award 2012 | wantoncreation

  8. Thank you so much for this, it’s very kind of you! I’ve renominated you, for all your support and inspiration over the last year or so! :)
    http://wantoncreation.wordpress.com/2012/12/17/blog-of-the-year-award-2012/

  9. congratulations on your award and thanks for sharing it!

  10. You have a very fine blog here … angels are around indeed for us all -:)!

    All the Best,
    Daniela

  11. Congrats Jenny, well deserved and you should embrace any praise thrown your way! Thank you so much for nominating me!

  12. Thank you so much for the nomination!

  13. Pingback: Blog Awards: Sisterhood of the World, Blog of 2012, and Liebster Awards « Kourtney Heintz's Journal

Please join in

